Emelies Travels -

Oreba Chocolate Tour
2015-01-01  01:43:00

Get more visitors to your blog! Permalink  Latin America  Trackbacks ()   
Follow on Facebook Follow on Bloglovin   
Som sista grej i Panama åkte vi till Oreba på choklad tur. Vi fick lära oss att chokladbönor växer på träd som ser ut som Björkar och smakar surt men gott direkt från frukten. Det var väldigt intressant, vi fick smaka på alla stegen och tillsist på den färdiga, organiska chokladen.
 
Till lunch serverade dem riktigt god lokal mat. De hade kokat roten av rabarber och gjort spenat av bladen, och serverade kyckling till det. Det var verkligen gott. Måste kolla upp om det går att göra med våra svenska rabarber. 
 

English version
 
As the last thing in Panama we went to Oreba for a chocolate tour. We learned that chocolate beans grow on trees that look like a swedish tree called Björk, and tastes sour but delicious straight from the fruit. It was very interesting, we got to taste all the steps and finally the finished, organic chocolate.
 
For lunch they served some very tasty local food. They had boiled the root of rhubarb and made spinach of the leaves, together with chicken. It was really good. I must check whether it is possible to do this with our Swedish rhubarb.
 
They recycle the shells from the chocolate beans 
 
It all starts from this little flower
 
Then it turns to this fruit
 
After about eight months the fruit is ready to use 
 
 
 
Inside the fruit you will find the cacao beans
 
They are eatable as they are, a bit sour and pretty tasty actually
 
Then you fry the beans until they start to pop like popcorn. That makes the shell fall off easily, and inside you will find the pure cacao.
 
 Roasted cacao to the left, and unroasted to the right, still with the shell on
 
After taking off the shell, you crush the cacao so that it becomes a powder
 
 
 
Then you heat up the powder until it melts a bit, add sugar and milk and there's your chocolate.
 
The boys working
 
 
 
We saw this colorful poisonous frog
 
 
 
 
Jobba i Australien och Kanada


Comments
Jossan

Häftigt! Då kan du inte bara allt om kokosnötter nu utan också allt om choklad ;)

2015-01-01 @ 13:26:04 Website: http://josefingoransson.blogg.se
Send a letter:


Name:
Remember me?

Mail: (will not be published)


Website:


Comment:

Trackback
I have moved! Check out my new site at Emelie's Travels.
Home

Welcome to my blog! I'm writing mostly in Swedish, but feel free to use the google translation tool to read it in your language.
Stockholm, Sweden
Follow on Bloglovin




Are you interested in my photos? Please visit www.shutterstock.com for more information.


My photography interest started in 2012 when I did my snowseason in Canada. I bought my first DSLR in December 2013 and since then I've been practicing on my own, always trying new things and ame for getting better photos.
- Nikon D610
- Panasonic Lumix DMC GX1
- GoPro Hero3+ Black Edition




Emelie Persson
Stockholm, Sweden





In this blog I'm writing about my life as a backpacker and a seasonal worker. I've been traveling the past five years and just can't stop. I'm simply too dependent and the grass is always greener on the other side they say... I hope to inspire and help other Travellers by sharing my experiences through this blog. If there's any questions, don't hesitate to write a comment or contact my mail. And remember, a little comment will inspire me to write more often!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...