Emelies Travels -

Swimming in caves - a natural water park
2015-01-22  17:30:28

Get more visitors to your blog! Permalink  Latin America  Trackbacks ()   
Follow on Facebook Follow on Bloglovin   
Efter att ha hoppat runt i de 22 poolerna i Semuc Champey så begav vi oss in i en grotta. Vi fick handstöpta ljus med oss in i grottan, och i öppningen möttes vi av fladdermöss. Vattnet var uppfriskande, vi var tvugna att simma igenom vissa bitar. Vi klättrade upp i olika hål, simmade ännu längre, klättrade uppför vattenfall inne i grottan och allra längst in kunde man hoppa några meter från grottväggen ned i vattnet. På vägen tillbaka åkte vi rutchkana genom ett hål där vattnet forsade igenom, och ploppade ut på andra sidan. Det här var sjukt coolt, vi hade inga förväntningar alls på detta med det visade sig att det var ett helt naturligt äventyrsbad inne i den där grottan, och det enda ljus vi hade var våra stearingljus. Hade detta funnits hemma hade vi säkert haft hjälm, flytväst och varit täckta av kuddar för man kunde nog slå sig rätt rejält om man landade fel. Men det är ju det som är så coolt ändå, det var som den mest naturliga grejen man kunde göra, och guiden kände till varenda vrå av grottan. 
 
Väl ute ur grottan hoppade vi i en varsin gummiring och tubade ned för floden. Det var också sjukt kul. Jag kan varmt rekommendera ett besök till Semuc Champey, bland det vackraste och roligaste vi gjort på resan. Helt klart bland topp 3! 
 
Sorry for the shit quality of the photos, but the GoPro isn't really a low light camera...
 
 
 

We swam around in the 22 pools in Semuc Champey, and after that we went into a cave. We got hand dipped candles with us into the cave, and in the opening we were met by bats. The water was refreshing, we had to swim through the cave. We climbed up into different holes, swam even further, climbed up waterfalls inside the cave and we could jump a few meters from the wall of the cave into the water. On the way back we went through a hole where the water gushed through, as a water slide, and popped out the other side. This was sooo cool, we had no expectations at all but this turned out to be a natural waterpark inside that cave, and the only light we had was our candles. Had this been at home we had certainly had a helmet, life jacket and been covered with pillows because you could probably get pretty damaged if landed wrong. But that's what's cool anyway, it was like the most natural thing you could do, and the guide knew every corner of the cave.

Once we got out of the cave, we jumped in a rubber ring and tubed down the river. It was also sick fun. I can highly recommend a visit to Semuc Champey, among the loveliest places and the funniest things we've done on the whole trip. Clearly, among the top 3!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Jobba i Australien och Kanada


Comments
Send a letter:


Name:
Remember me?

Mail: (will not be published)


Website:


Comment:

Trackback
I have moved! Check out my new site at Emelie's Travels.
Home

Welcome to my blog! I'm writing mostly in Swedish, but feel free to use the google translation tool to read it in your language.
Stockholm, Sweden
Follow on Bloglovin




Are you interested in my photos? Please visit www.shutterstock.com for more information.


My photography interest started in 2012 when I did my snowseason in Canada. I bought my first DSLR in December 2013 and since then I've been practicing on my own, always trying new things and ame for getting better photos.
- Nikon D610
- Panasonic Lumix DMC GX1
- GoPro Hero3+ Black Edition




Emelie Persson
Stockholm, Sweden





In this blog I'm writing about my life as a backpacker and a seasonal worker. I've been traveling the past five years and just can't stop. I'm simply too dependent and the grass is always greener on the other side they say... I hope to inspire and help other Travellers by sharing my experiences through this blog. If there's any questions, don't hesitate to write a comment or contact my mail. And remember, a little comment will inspire me to write more often!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...